Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is incredibly dangerous, but every day drivers choose to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol and/or drugs.
Alcohol impairs a driver’s judgment and reaction time; it is a senseless act that puts all other drivers on the road in danger, plus any passengers the driver may be carrying. Alcohol makes it impossible for a driver to driver safely. Any car accident can be bad enough on its own, however, a motor vehicle accident caused by a drunk driver is not really an accident – it is negligence.
An auto accident due to a drunk driver can dramatically alter a person’s life, especially when the injuries are catastrophic, such as severe brain damage, broken bones, spinal cord injuries, torn rotator cuffs, torn tendons or torn ligaments.
Often times, even minor and moderate auto accidents can cause painful injuries, including whiplash, concussions, bruising, lacerations, and scarring.
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is a crime in the United States. In New Jersey, according to the New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, “A person is guilty of drunk driving if he or she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration or BAC of 0.08 percent or greater.”
In New Jersey, operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or greater is illegal. In addition, there is a zero tolerance law for any driver under the age of 21. If a driver under the age of 21 is pulled over by a police officer and found to have detectable alcohol in his or her bloodstream of 0.01 percent or above, it will result in a drunk-driving charge.
Under New Jersey Law P. L. 2003, Chapter 314, “If an offender’s BAC is 0.08 percent or higher, but less than 0.10 percent, or if an offender permits another person with a BAC over 0.08 percent, but less than 0.10 percent to operate a motor vehicle”, the penalties are:
- Excessive fines and fees – up to $500
- Imprisonment – up to 30 days
- License suspension – from 3 months to up to one year
- A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- Community service
- Ignition interlock device
- An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
When you or a family member suffers a serious injury or wrongful death at the hands of a drunk driver, you have the right to go after the intoxicated driver for financial compensation, including:
- Medical costs
- Loss of income
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of future earnings
- Loss of affection
- Funeral costs
When an individual makes a decision to drink and drive, they place the lives of everyone else on the road in danger. If you are the victim in a drunk-driving accident, you are likely to suffer serious long-term consequences.
To effectively protect your interests, it is important to contact a skilled personal injury attorney who can ensure that the drunk driver is held accountable for your injuries and faces consequences for making the decision to drive while intoxicated.
A Top New Jersey Personal Injury & Accident Law Firm will have knowledgeable Wrongful Death Attorneys with experience and understanding of the law, they will be able to provide you a clear understanding of all your options. Aggressive representation protecting your rights to ensure a favorable outcome.