Each year, legislature brings up the most important laws for review. The best of the best make it through if they are of statewide concern. This year, 2016, there are new laws being instilled. You should always be aware of the newest laws in your state and be prepared for anything.
Drug Abuse: A bill known as A-2859 will advance the continuation of the Department of Law & Public Safety’s existing Project Medicine Drop program. The bill will also provide for future expansion of the program at the funding discretion of the department. They must also post on their website a list of all secure prescription medicine drop-off locations, including all receptacles located in New Jersey that are approved by the federal Drug Enforcement Administration. Currently, there are 126 Project Medicine Drop locations across the state of New Jersey.
For a free legal consultation, call (201) 890-4838
Gun Laws: Governor Chris Christie announced changes to New Jersey’s state firearm policy. They will now require applications for gun permits for victims of domestic violence, other violent crimes, or those who live under a direct or material threat. These applications will be processed quickly and without delay.
Car Seats: There are new regulations that apply to parents using car seats for their infants and toddlers. For infants to age 2, it is now a requirement that car seats remain rear-faces in the vehicle and must have a five-point harness. Once the child is 2 and 30 pounds, the seat can be faced forward. For ages 2 to 4, a child under the age of 4 or under 40 pounds must remain in a rear-facing or forward-facing car seat and can switch over to a booster seat when they have exceeded this. For ages 4 to 8, children must meet a height requirement of 57 inches to be eligible to use a regular seat belt. If you do not comply with these laws, you will face a fine of $50 to $75 beginning in September.
Prohibition of Unsolicited Checks: Companies will not legally be allowed to send New Jersey residents unsolicited checks that obligate the recipient to pay a fee or enroll them in any service when they are redeemed. These “free” (but not really free) money orders are very deceptive and very dishonest, as they can charge New Jersey residents much more than they bargained for. Violators could see fines of $500 to start.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Developmental Disability Services: There is a new application being released when applying for developmental disability services. This new law will streamline the application process for people requesting services for individuals with developmental disabilities from the Department of Children and Families and Department of Human Services by developing one single application.
Fishing Buddy Licenses: There is a new law creating a fishing buddy license that encourages more recreational fishing. It will offer half-price licenses to people 16 and older who purchase their license in conjunction with someone purchasing their first New Jersey fishing license since 2010.
Are these new laws ones that will apply to you? Every year, remember to look for the newest laws so you can stay aware and be prepared for new provisions. And if you are ever seeking a lawyer in your time of need, remember who to call. Maggiano, DiGirolamo & Lizzi will work with you to get you everything you need in your time of need. Call today for more information on your claim.
Attorney Advertising. This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. The hiring of an attorney is an important decision. The information you obtain in this website is not, nor is it intended to be legal advice. You should contact an attorney for individual advice regarding your situation.