Accidents involving motor vehicles are constantly taking place, causing many injuries and even fatalities per year. Safe driving in turn causes the roadways to be safer, preventing these accidents from happening in the first place. But how can you prevent yourself from becoming a statistic? Now you can learn about different things involving vehicle safety such as alcohol awareness, drowsy driving, and senior driving safety.
New Jersey Law has penalties, like all states, installed to keep people from driving under the influence of alcohol. New Jersey Law (P.L. 2003, CHAPTER 314) states that, if an offender’s BAC is 0.08 percent or higher, the penalties include a fine of $250-$400, imprisonment for up to 30 days, 3 months license suspension, involvement in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years.
It is no surprise and nothing new that you must be at least 21 years of age to purchase, possess, and consume alcoholic beverages. Underage drinking is illegal and against the law in New Jersey, as with all states. It is a good idea to learn and understand the penalties that you may endure if you disobey the law. It is vital to your safety and everybody else sharing the roadways with you.
New Jersey State doesn’t want you to become another statistic. Remember these facts: In 2012, 10,322 people were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes. Traffic fatalities in alcohol-impaired-driving crashes increased by 4.6 percent from 9,865 in 2011 to 10,322 in 2012. Over 1.2 million drivers were arrested in 2011 for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics. To reverse these trends, everybody should take a systematic approach with law enforcement, prosecutors, judicial officials, and individuals to do their part and protect innocent victims from impaired drivers.
It is something that you would consider to be common sense until you end up in a position where you have taken on too many hours at work, or forgot to take that important afternoon nap – the fact of drowsy driving. According to the National Sleep Foundation, 60% of Americans have driven while feeling sleepy and 37% have admitted to falling asleep while driving in the past year. This is a very real and very scary problem that affects many Americans with busy lifestyles. The fact of the matter is, if you can’t stay awake while driving, you could veer into traffic and cause an accident that could lead to serious injuries or even death to you or other passengers sharing the roadways.
So, if you are feeling drowsy, you should always leave the roadway and stop to rest. Here are some signs to tell if you should do just that:
- Having trouble focusing, blinking frequently, or having heavy eyelids
- Daydreaming or having wandering thoughts
- Missing exits or traffic signs
- Yawning often or having to rub your eyes
- Trouble keeping your head up
- Drifting from your lane into another, or hitting rumble strips
- Feeling restless and irritable
Aging is a natural process, but one that can affect a person’s vision, hearing, reaction time, and overall mental fitness. Your driving abilities may be greatly affected and therefore lead to an undesirable road crash. You could be putting yourself and others at risk and may not even know it. So how can this be prevented through the usage of driving programs?
AAA is the leader in driver safety and invented driver training in 1935. They understand the statistics, one of the most alarming being the fact that older seniors are generally less able to withstand the forces of a crash and that they are at a higher risk of having a serious collision per mile than any other age group except for those under 25. This is why AAA provides driver training to older seniors. Their improvement courses can help these people stay up to date with safe driving techniques. They are offered through the classroom or online and can even lead to seniors being able to get a discount on insurance premiums.
As seniors age, health may decline in some ways, but abilities do not have to. Sharpen your techniques and skills and become informed. There are useful tips for many vehicle safety laws in New Jersey. If you feel like you need any further help or desire legal help with a problem, call MDL for a free consultation. They will work with you to understand your potential claim.