In New Jersey, the law prohibits drivers from using any handheld devices while operating a vehicle. This applies whether they are making a phone call, texting, or using messenger services, among other tasks. These actions are distracting and can put the driver, as well as other drivers and pedestrians, at risk. This is especially true with texting while driving since, in addition to being a mental distraction, it requires drivers to take their eyes off the road and at least one hand off the wheel.
Drive safely. If you must make a call, use a headset or speakerphone. Avoiding cell phone use while driving is an even better option.
If you were in an auto accident while texting and driving, or you believe that another driver’s texting and driving contributed to your accident, you need an experienced New York or New Jersey car accident attorney by your side. Consult with a lawyer from Maggiano, DiGirolamo, and Lizzi PC today at 201-585-9111.
Penalties for Texting and Driving in New Jersey
For a free legal consultation, call (201) 585-9111
Penalties for texting and driving will vary depending on circumstances and whether it is the driver’s first offense. An initial offense may include fines of up to $400. For a second offense, it may be up to $600. Third offenses can result in fines of up to $800, points on your license, and potential license suspension.
It’s also worth noting that texting and driving laws are primary laws in New Jersey. That means that an officer can pull you over even if there are no other obvious violations.
While insurance companies and law enforcement often present situations as being black-and-white—and of course, in their favor—the law is much more complicated than that. That’s why it’s so important to have an attorney that can advocate for your rights and help you navigate the system, which is often stacked against you. Call 201-585-9111 today for a no-obligation consultation.
What if There’s an Accident?
If someone is injured or killed due to a driver’s texting and driving, the penalties become far more severe. They might include felony criminal charges, six months to 10 years in jail, and fines of up to $150,000.
Do I Need an Attorney?
Texting and driving might seem like a minor issue, but a ticket for it can have lasting repercussions. If it results in an accident, those repercussions can be life-changing, and not in a positive way. If you have received a ticket for texting and driving or have been in an accident related to texting and driving, you need a lawyer today.
The attorneys of Maggiano, DiGirolamo, and Lizzi PC have decades of experience in car accident cases. They are also up-to-date on how the law is evolving to address technological advances. You need a dedicated advocate who is willing to aggressively protect your rights and get you the compensation you deserve. Call us today at 201-585-9111.